Home » Uncategorized » Rest in peace, Sammy Arena

Rest in peace, Sammy Arena

Start here

Rest in peace, Sammy Arena

As far back as I can remember, ever since I was a little boy growing up in West Tampa, the lovely voices of the talented Arena twins have filled my ears with beautiful music. Just last year, when the Festa Italiana was wrapping up, I had the opportunity to tell Andrew Arena how much I have always enjoyed him and his brother’s music. The Arena twins are a Tampa treasure and we are blessed to have them.
I have often seen Andrew’s Cadillac in the neighborhood, whether at one of the coffee shops or the pharmacy, his brother many times in the passenger seat. Every time I would see either one of them they were ready with a friendly handshake and a smile, true gentlemen to say the least. I saw Andrew in his Cadillac a few days ago, the passenger seat unoccupied. An era of tremendous musical talent had come to an end. The wonderful memories will forever live on. The beautiful sound of music they made will never die.
Sammy has been laid to rest. His service attended by several thousand people. In Ybor City, we had a moment of silence for this great Tampa native. A friend called me and asked if I had been to the church. I was not able to attend. He told me it was overflowing with people. I had no doubt in my mind about what he was telling me. I needed no proof. The Arena twins are extremely well loved. The unbelievable outpouring of love from the community on the passing of Sammy can not be expressed by words alone, simply because there are no words. This is the impact these two brothers have had on Tampa.
For many years I have walked up the stairs of the Italian Club on 7th avenue in Ybor City. As you pass the photos of past club presidents and images of Sicily and even a signed photo of Jerry Vale you’ll find the Arena twins, smiling right back at you. That is how I will always remember Sammy Arena, smiling and ready to shake my hand and say hello. He was a nice guy and a tremendous talent. The gift he and his brother have given to Tampa for so many decades is priceless. They are special and they are ours, forever.


1 Comment

  1. Glenda says:

    I didn’t have the privilege that you had in experiencing these two men and their talents and kind hearts — but in order to have written what you did about them with such succinct words of praise and remembrances they left in your heart, is also amazing.

    By telling those who both do and do not know them, how much they touched your life, you have given everyone insight into both their world and yours. You can hear the joy, respect and sadness in your words. Words are very powerful – and you have been given the gift of such eloquent prose.

    Thank you for sharing this message with all of us. It has caused me to take a moment myself and reflect on the people in my own life that have made impressions in my heart … impressions that will stay with me forever.

Leave a comment